Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

STI Mag issue

Iceman2733

Hello everyone. I am new to the 2011 world and recently ran into a weird issue. Well I took a chance and picked up a few mags second hand which prolly wasn't the best idea. Anyways one of the mags the follower will came out of the mag if pressed down on the front of the follower. I thought it was an issue with the factory STI follower so I purchased a Gram follower and spring and it doesn't come out as much but still the same. I have used a caliper and according to it the mag with the issues is smaller then the 3 brand new I had purchased. Is there any way to correct this issue as it is unusable because the follower will come up and hit the slide. Can anyone give me an advice and help really messed me up today at a match. I had a guy there tighten up the feed lips at the match but didn't help either.

THANKS anyone who can help me I hope I didn't waste money buying this mag second hand

There is a tuning thread posted at the top of this forum. what the measurements should be are in the thread. Start there. The tubes don't tend to wear out they just move some. I have been able to "tune" mine with no special tools except some soft jaws for my vice.

Thanks guys I did check out that thread and the mag was in spec of what they have in there somewhat. It was actually only .385-.387 on the feed lips front to rear. I opened them up to .400 and it made the follower wanting to come out worse. The only measurement I have been able to find is the feel lip opening dimensions. I would think more would be tuned on these mags when people mess with them.

I had seen dawson's kit and read quite a bit by it but hate to spend that kind of money when my other 3 - 140mm with Gram guts feed perfectly with close to 400+ rounds thru them. *knock on wood*.... lol Is there any thing else you guys would look at.