Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New STI Steelmaster. I have a couple of Qs.

AnimalCustoms

Would a trigger job be recommended?

There is a wing like thing that sticks out of the core mount (opposite side of the ejection port). Is this where my left hand thumb rests?

I'm rather new to the open class, this being my first open gun abs any suggestions or add ons would be much appreciated.

Also Bianchi Cup question. Where can I get wings for the steelmastee. Is that even possible on this gun?

That is a *thumb rest [generic]*. Some like them some don't. I don't use one because I push the left side down with it and get low hits.

You will probably have failure to eject with the mount that came on the gun if it is new. Either change to a Cheeley right angle mount that also moves the dot back further. or a cheely RTS mount that also moves the dot back some and replace the slide rider with a RTS. The orig mount often causes cases to be knocked back into the open chamber area causing jams and stovepipes. The trigger job is purely preference. The slide rider CMore that came with the gun is a better way to start because you can change the dot modules to what ever size you want to try.

Let the trigger break in some then see if you still think it could be better.

With the dot mounted the way it is ...it may get dirty quickly. Do not let that powder residue on the lens after you finish shooting. You may even have to clean it during the match. Get some lens pens.

Good luck Ilike my Steel mastersince I figured out the issues......

both my Steel Masters ran 100% from brand new... I did not have to change anything... I like the "wing thing" as you mentioned.. its a thumb rest/gas petal... I like it.. no problem with pushing shots right or down.. I would recommend to keep your new Steel Master well lubed.. especially the bushing... I was told when you shoot the first shot of the day... you should have oil on your glasses..