Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Snap caps and dry firing

CarRacer

I'm new to action pistol so 80% of my training right now is dry firing. I feel I need to get comfortable with the movements required for drawing, reloading, and transitions before I need to work on anything else.

I've been practicing magazine changes with my G34 a lot lately as I have a big fear of muffing a reload. I've been doing it without snap caps and just an empty magazine, should I be doing it with a snap cap in them?

I'm curious if a dummy round will help simulate how a magazine will actually feel and fit.

Thanks for your input.

I use a snap cap in the mags so that if I'm off a little on the reload the mag feed lips don't get caught on the magwell of the gun. I figure since I have the caps all ready I might as well use one in the gun.

A single dummy/snap cap will prevent the mag from hanging up if you're a little off on the dry reload.

You'll need a mag full of true dummies (bullet, case, no primer, no powder) to simulate the real weight and feel of a loaded magazine.

Edited by lumpygravy

I left fired primers in the cases and then added fine (playbox) sand, equilivent to my power weight (or sort of matter with 45, I honestly couldnt tell in 9mm but it was a MAJOR difference from an empty mag to one maxed out. I have never found snap-caps as heavey as a loaded round. YMMV

Great idea for the dummy round. Apparently a friend of mine found a company that makes dummy mags. They are supposed to have the same weight as a loaded mag. I haven't found them yet and honestly forgot to keep looking for them. Ill go back on the hint and post it if I find them.

I'll go make up some dummy rounds tonight. How do you permanently color the rounds to differentiate that they're dunny rounds?

This is why I deprime and leave them that way. Easy to identify.