Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Kaboom

elroyyboy

Well, I started shooting Battle in the Bluegrass IV this morning, my first ever Level II match. I was doing well, slow, but getting good hits. On the fourth stage blew up my new G35 Gen4. Blew out extractor, mag release, and mag and bruised up my hands pretty bad. The slide wont even cycle now. I'm what I thought was a careful reloader, look in every case before setting bullets by hand. I'll probably invest in a bullet puller. FML. post-41155-136587297889_thumb.jpg

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Would you give us some specifics? Like what was the load you were using, have you had any problems before, how long have you been reloading, what is your process for loading and how often you check powder/cases/oal/etc?

Were you able to recover the case?

Glad you weren't seriously hurt!

Ok. I've been reloading for about a year w a Pro 1000(cowboy T videos and lee thread on this forum made it work). I start a reloading session with weighing of 10 charges and checking every 15-20 charges after that. If I stop for any reason, I re weigh 10...

I've been using Titegroup for 40 under 180gr Berry's FP and use Lee FCD on every round. I also measure OAL of 10 when I start and randomly measure during reloading.

My intent was to develop a near minor load in order to make the gun, G35, run nice and soft in production. I've been using 4.3g, 1.135OAL, with success. Not a minor load, chrono approx 875-900 FPS, but it runs the new gun well without having to change recoil spring. I've used this recipe 3 different times with no malfunctions and no leading of the bore. Additionally, I plunk tested every round and discarded for disassembly anything that doesn't drop in easily.