Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How to determine recoil spring

deano2246

Ok by the picture you can tell the gun has a VERY light slide, its a 38 super. I have been shooting the last owners loads (he only shoots steel so doesnt need to make power factor) he has been pushing a 115 grn bullet around 1050 FPS so making right at 120 power factor, and he has been using a 7 lb recoil spring. I need to get the speed up to around 1115-1125 FPS to get me safely around minor. I don't want to batter my frame and slide, how can I tell what spring I should use.

BTW I am brand new to open guns so all this is new to me.

Thanks

Kyle

post-33367-0-37230500-1351688934_thumb.j

Here's the best piece of advice I've ever read (I know I read it on this board, but can't remember where, otherwise I'd give credit where it's due):

Bring the target in relatively close (five yards for me), take aim and fire two shots as fast as you can; don't even reacquire the sight picture. If the second shot is low, the muzzle dips as the slide slams home, you could use a lighter spring, if the second shot is high, you could use a heavier spring.

Of every method I've read, this one makes the most sense, in theory and in practice.

• 3 months later...

I've always picked the spring weight by doing double taps - you need an observer for this - if the 2nd shot goes lower than the first then a lighter spring is indicated. If the 2nd shot goes above the first, then a heavier spring is indicated. Goal is to get them on the same horizontal plane.

Give it a try, you might like it.