Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

3 thoughts for shooting

jkushner1

Hello All:

I am relatively new to IPSC and IDPA, I shoot on average 3-4 events a month including IPSC, IDPA and Steel (tried Bianchi and Pins also). Anyway, I know that practice is the reinforcement required but not to engrain bad habits. I want to stop now before I engrain any depper the habits I am developing. My primary teaching reference to date has been Matt Burketts DVD Practical Shooting set and a book called Fist Fire which describes a unique technique for holding a gun (I am not currently using their grip - too much to think about when trying to negotiate a stage - I dont practice enough - once a week on average). I always put safety first. Experienced shooters say that although my grip is correct that I am not holding on to the gun strongly enough and sometimes milk it (hands move all over the place). I also get ahead of myself trying to shoot too fast but have controlled that more recently. My accuracy is below average but not horrible. I started shooting 45 acp moved quickly to .40 (IPSC Limited and Limited 10) and have now purchased a Para LDA DAO 9mm 1911 for the production classes. My thinking here is that I should shoot the most controllable caliber and develop the proper habits then move back to .40 when ready - I also have a couple 1911 38 super limited guns. Anyway, MY QUESTION FOR THE MEMBERSHIP HERE IS:

I there 2-3 key thought sequence that I can use that pertains to fundamentals, for example, Grip-Front Sight-Squeeze, etc. I need some very simple basic repeatable thought sequence that I can think of at the beginning of and during a stage.

Please provide your advice.

Thanks in advance

JON