Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shooting like driving?

Aglifter

I've been, mentally, trying to move toward being able to shoot as easily as I drive, and I started thinking that, perhaps, that's the main, perhaps the only, difference between a GM, and a non-GM shooter.

If the average person was as proficient w. a gun, as he is w. a car, would he be a GM?

(I've been thinking that shooting must be in its infancy as a skill. Really, until the founding of IPSC, there wasn't a sizable group dedicated to developing pistol skills. )

The way I understood that section about driving was letting the unconscious take care of the mechanical skills once the skills have been trained in. Like as a new driver, I had to be focused mentally on keeping on eye on the RPMs, letting go off on the gas, pressing in the clutch, shifting to the next gear, releasing the clutch, and then getting on the gas again. With experience, that set of operations becomes automatic based on perception of speed/engine sound.

I do think you are on to something about thinking of skill levels. I think an average driver with good skills will be surprised that there is still more to learn when getting behind the wheel of a go cart and learning other techniques like entry and exit angles, keeping on the gas, and braking with the other foot, etc. So probably an average driver with good defensive driving skills will be a B or C class, but a driver with racing experience will be in the A, M, or GM classes.

If the average person was as proficient w. a gun, as he is w. a car, would he be a GM?