Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.223 seating die

Trey A

I am new to reloading, so I apologize for my ignorance. I am looking to set up my 650 for .223 and want to know what are the best dies and how I should set each station up. I am particularly intersted in info on the seating die. I have been told about the windowed dies and one with the micrometer adjustments. I like the idea of both. Does anyone make one with both that will work on a progressive press? Thanks for the info

• 2 weeks later...

For a windowed die with the micrometer adjustment, try RCBS Gold Medal. It also has an o-ring that keeps the bullet from falling through unlike the RCBS Competition. Without the o-ring, you have to time when the case is in the right height so the bullet drops in the mouth. I use it on my 650 and have the lock ring under the toolhead so it doesn't block the window.

I like the Hornady seating dies, I put the seating stem in the drill and turned it for a softer touch on the top of the bullet. the sleeve that sets on the case is not spring loaded like the RCBS = I like the non spring better as my fingers can stay on the bullet all the way until the die wipes them off

What about the redding competition die, anyone using it?

Yes, excellent choice. It's the seating die I use with 69gr and 77gr Sierra Match Kings. I use the standard Dillon seating die for 55gr ammo.

IMHO the windowed seating dies aren't really helping you anywhere.

I use the standard Dillon sizing and taper crimp dies and think they are best choice for .223

I load on a Dillon 650 for my AR in 223. I use a Redding competition seating die and a Redding type S neck bushing die without any crimping operation. Works great and I wouldn't change a thing. A lot of people really like Forster's equivalent of these Redding products.

Yes, excellent choice. It's the seating die I use with 69gr and 77gr Sierra Match Kings. I use the standard Dillon seating die for 55gr ammo.