Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm Minor 124 gr MG FMJ soft shooting loads

gkjr

I have been shooting pistol (glock 17) for 6 months, and have shot 4 matches in the last 4 months in IDPA, USPSA stock/production. Within the last 3 months I have started reloading on a Dillon 550B. I have really focused on learning the fundamentals of shooting, 60/40 grip, trigger control/reset, front sight post. I have come along ways in the last 4 months with shooting, but now I want to take advantage of a good low felt recoil load. I have searched and searched for 124 MG FMJ minor low recoil. I have copied and pasted, annotated and keep a journal of the data I have collected. After loading 4000 rounds over the last couple months of Unique, Bullseye, and TG, I have yet to get the "feel" of a round that I am looking for or one that I would consider my pet load. I am shooting 4.0 gr of BE, 4.1 gr of TG, and 4.8 gr of UNQ and they all make minimum PF, but non are ones I really like the feel of. I am considering WSF, Clays, and N320 to see if one of these powders give me the felt recoil I am seeking. I do not care if it is clean or dirty as I clean my pistol religiously. What powders/grains would work well with a 124 gr MG FMJ to give me the soft felt recoil I am seeking? Should I switch to a 147 gr bullet? What loads do you recommend? Thank for any information.

Greg

Yes, IMO in order to get the felt recoil you are looking for you need to switch to a 147g bullet using a fast powder like Solo 1000, VV N320, WST, or Titegroup. 3.3g of VV N320 or Solo 1000 will give you the PF required.

Frank

+1.

I started with 115 gr factory loads, and noticed a difference

when I started reloading 124 grain bullets.

A year ago, I tried reloading 147's with WW231 and a large

difference for me - much softer feel - I could shoot faster.

Really love it - haven't tried the N320 powder - but the WW231

worked like a charm for me.

But, you might prefer the snap of a 124 bullet?

Good luck.

Jack