Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bad Day Of Dryfire

JimmyZip

I have been dryfiring a lot for the past six months. Here in the desert we are in the end of the first part of our season. This morning I did my regular routine and then dryfire. I just felt out of sorts. Awkward. I don't really get this very often, but when I am consistently practicing for a few months ever day, it'll creep up and spoil a session.

IF you have this occasional affliction, what do you do to cure it, or is there a cure?

JZ

I dry fire on a regular basis. Every now and then I have a day when everything goes wrong and I can't get into it. It happens. We are not at our best every day. I find that changing my drills up helps to keep those bad days away.

Edited by AWLAZS

Same thing happens in live fire too right? Even professionals make mistakes and "forget" how to do things they've trained thousands of times. Sometimes it's the simple things too... like why do I sometimes get a bad grip on my draw or after reloads that I've practiced over and over again? I wish there was an answer....

JZ, it's always disturbing to have a crappy session make you feel like you're losing ground. However, perhaps it's the way this session is interpreted and the changes that are made and implemented will turn this mornings practice into something positive. How would any of the following work for you?

1. Change the time of day that you dryfire (morning, afternoon, night)

2. Change your dryfire routine (different drills, positions, senarios, etc)

3. Shoot matches as often as your schedule and budget allows (that is, if your not getting out very often)

4. Take some time off

You may have already thought of, or be incorporating some of these but they have helped me get through times similar to what you described. Keep the faith and best wishes.

RH

Go do something else, no point of practicing if your not into it.