Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Tec Loader Blues

Singlestack

Heres the scoop.

I just started shooting open and I thought I had to have a Tec loader so I bought one and mounted it to my 1187 today.

First opinion: What a piece of crap! :angry:

What do I need to modify to make this flimsy thing work?

I can get 3 rounds out of it most of the time, never 4, and sometimes none! The pusher peels out of the tube WAY too easy.

Do I need to put some kind of dowl in the pusher thingy?

Do I need to take the DMW gate off? I really do not want to do that!

help..... :huh:

I saw a shooter not long ago that had cut ~3/4 slots lenght wise in PCV pipe that fit over the outside of his tubes. The effect was a much stiffer tube. He had the outside PVC tube about 1.5" shorter on each end. I saw him use it for 4 reloads that went very smooth.

Any thought on this type of setup?

How do you hold the shotgun while using a Tec Loader?

Anybody tried out the DMW bracket?

Hi John,

Don't give up, they do work, you probably just haven't got the hang of it yet. If you have looked at someone elses setup on a Remy, and the bracket is installed the same then that is probably not the issue. Do you have an EasyLoader installed on your 11-87, if not that would be the problem.

Here are excerpts from a previous thread on the Tec Loaders. I have distilled them down to the ones that will add to your knowledge on these suckers. I have the same setup on my 11-87, and find this system works very well once you come to terms with it's little idiosyncracies.

-----------------------------------------------

I saw a neat trick with the speed loaders. Put a 7/16" wooden dowel rod in the handle and out through the hole in the back of the tube. It keeps the handle from popping out the slot. Looks dumb as hell but it worked for these guys.

Chris Grube

Delrin rod works even better. That's what I use in mine.

Bill Hearne