Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Thinking of the Redding Comp. Seater die

I have a S1050 set up for 9mm and currently load using Redding Pro Series dies (exclusively for all my loading). Thinking a lot about replacing the standard seater die in that set with the Competition seater die. I'm a commercial reloader, so cost isn't an issue here.

I would like to hear experiences with this die regarding OAL control, runout control, and repeatability of setting for new seating depth (for different bullet weights/profiles) if you would, please.

I run the comp. seating dies in all my tool heads. I'm an engineer and have an OC personality, so when I set out for 1.130 I'm disappointed when the average of the lot is not 1.130. The die does not guarantee that you'll have exacting OAL but the the average is where it needs to be and other factors could be contributing to the variations. Anyway, the micrometer adjustment works awesome and the return to zero capability is just what you would expect. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

I have often thought of getting one of these dies. I think they would be great if you tinker alot with oal's. But I can't see the sense in them if you are going to load thousands upon thousands of the exact same load. My Dillon seater die stays constant all year as well. But when I move it I will admit it is a PITA to get right again.

I have often thought of getting one of these dies. I think they would be great if you tinker alot with oal's. But I can't see the sense in them if you are going to load thousands upon thousands of the exact same load. My Dillon seater die stays constant all year as well. But when I move it I will admit it is a PITA to get right again.

Well, I load a 147gr in the 9mm and only that weight. But I load a Xtreme plated RN, a Gold Dot JHP, a Zero JHP, a Zero FMJ, and possibly will add a Montana Gold CMJ to that lineup.