Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Production Question?

jrf

I'm fairly new to USPSA shooting, and am getting better. Amazing what practice can do. At any rate, I mostly shoot Production and Limited 10. As I started in this sport, I was much less concerned with the "rules" as they pertained to bending as I was with, let's just get bullets down range safely and work on technique. Because in my opinion 95% of shooting is the shooter. Now I'm starting to make sure I've got all my i's dotted and T's crossed as far as rules go, and keeping up with what's happening.

I'm getting somewhat confused about one thing in particular. Why the big division between SA and DA for production? Yes I've read all the recent threads about cocking, and Springfield and Glock... forget all that for a moment. Shouldn't production be just that? A gun you can buy from a major manufacturer that sells X number of those guns in a given year. Who cares if is SA, DA, Selective action, Glock... whatever. Hell I think we've only seen the start of the "name the action of this gun" game. Glock was smart enough to term and create "Safe Action" Springfield was stupid enough to call theirs SA even though it's the same damn thing as Glock. What I'm trying to point out is, why even fight over it? I guess I don't understand why Production in the first place was limited to DA guns? We aren't talking super blasters here... we are talking walk into your local gun store and purchase an off the shelf pistol to compete with. Doesn't Production already specifically say you can do very little mods to the guns? Are we worried that manufacturers would then build specific guns that were "factory" but with all the good stuff already done? If so why not make sure that X number of that gun is sold in the country? AND if the intent is for production to be for DA guns, then why allow Glock? I know it's not a SA gun, but it is a "Safe Action" gun, and Safe Action does not equal DA.