Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Powder in the Hopper Questions

mikko

Approximately how many grains of powder does the powder hopper on a 550B hold?

Is there any problems with storing powder in the hopper for extended periods? Is it climate / environment dependent? (i.e. the midwest, in the basement, near a sump well)

The background for my questions is this. I'm new to reloading and recently purchase a nearly new 550B from a person who was quite uneducated about his machine. I think he owned it about two years and loaded only 1,000-1,500 9mm rounds on it. The seller had powder stored in the hopper and primers stored in the tube when I went to look at the machine. He seemed very casual about the danger of primers, displaying no respect for them when some became lodged within the primer magazine tube. He owned no reloading manuals and even originally had the machine set up by a friend who had purchased the machine for him. Amusingly, he broke his bullet puller by striking the wrong end when I asked to see how it worked. Amusement quickly turned to annoyance a few minutes later when I became the owner of the bullet puller and the rest of the gear. :roflol:

There was no container for the powder, however, I believe that it is 231 because the hodgdon printout from the internet that was pinned to the wall in front of his machine had his ammo load highlighted. I'm pretty confident that the powder is 231, because he had never done any loading of other calibers, but I'm not sure if I should use the small amount of powder or just take it outside and burn it. Even if I was certain it is 231 could there be any problems because it was stored in the hopper in a basement near a sump?