Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My first match and the mental effects

I just shot my first ever USPSA match. This is the first time i've even shot in the company of anyone other than close relatives at our backyard range.

in preparation for the match, i dryfire practiced, and practiced quick reloads with empty mags. i conciously told myself that i really should get some dummy rounds and practice the reloads for weight, and also the mags go in the gun different when they're full. wouldn't you know it, the very first stage, first reload, i failed to seat TWO mags. off to a pretty bad start, i thought, but it's my first time... who cares?

since that first stage, which i remember vividly, i gave up on trying to be good. i was new, and that's about as good as i could perform, i told myself. i was so focused on planning my courses of fire, and trying to do everything by the rules, especially when it came to safety, that i had no mental capacity to worry about how well i was going to perform. another thing that kept my mind occupied was keeping busy stickering targets.