Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.40 / Titegroup / Chrono Results

JTew

I am relatively new to reloading and need a couple opinions. I loaded a number of .40 rounds. Below are the components.

Gun: Bedell 5" spitfire. Dillion 550B, EGW size die, Lee competition powder die, and the Lee FCD. Chrono is the MKIV XP

Components: Zero 180gn JHP, Federal SP primers, mixed brass (mostly Federal), Titegroup powder (4.6gn). 1.135 OAL and a .420 crimp

I went to the range to test my loads for PF before this weekends VA-MD Sectional. I had a bunch of ammo already reloaded to what I had used last year, that was 4.6gn of titegroup It made 175.5PF out of a Glock 35 with a KKM barrel.

I used the same settings as above, and got the below results.

Titegroup High Low Avg Avg/PF

6-8-09 Temp. 80, partly sunny. 4.6gn, 927, 905, 916.5 avg, 165PF Too close for comfort loaded some new rounds at 4.7gn.

6-9-09 Temp. 76, cloudy. 4.7gn, 1019, 965, 984.5 avg, 177PF Seemed like a big jump, so I tried some of the same 4.6gn rounds I had with me and got these new results.

6-9-09 Temp. 76, cloudy 4.6gn, 985, 938, 957.3 avg, 172PF

My question is why such a difference with the same 4.6gn load on a similar day temp wise. Would the partly sunny day make such a difference in the load, or is this really within normal expected variations for a load.

You need to run at least 10 rounds, and if you put a target on top of the screens white side down you will see the lighting variations in your readings drop a LOT. With similar weather other than lighting your 'problem' is likely due to the lighting.

TiteGroup wasn't consistent for me, not consistent enough anyway. I had huge swings with temperature and humidity changes that stopped when I switched powders. I never had huge swings in similar weather though, it was consistent from one day to a similar day.

Couple of things.

Mixed brass. For major matches quit. Go with one headstamp. It takes out one variable.