Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

PAINTING

Ed K

:angry2: I hate painting!

Why? I'm not good at it, I don't have the patience, I suck at it, the prep, the clean up, paint in my hair, paint on my clothes, the list goes on.

Today (day 4) I'm still painting my kitchen. It's not a big kitchen! All because the in-laws are coming to visit. The last time they came, I had to paint the guest room.

I had paint on me before I even picked up a brush. My yellow lab now is Forest Green, satin finish from leaning on the friggin trim.

Here's an idea. I'm going to pray to my higher power that the next time he does a mass update on the female species, insert a gene, or an instinct, that makes the love painting. Not the Georgia O'Keefe or Grandma Moses painting, but picking up a pail of flippin Dutch Boy and going to town.

If your wife/gf enjoys painting, good for you. Maybe God has already started beta testing. Mine? At the mere mention of picking up a roller she runs off, grabs her purse, and heads out the door. Where's she going? To her girlfriends house to paint their nails!

End of rant. I already see another trip to Menard's, and a 2nd coat in my future. And I have to clean up my keyboard.

Edited by Ed K

I hate painting!

+++

Particularly painting ceilings. I end up with an ache in my neck and shoulders that takes a week to get better and have yet to figure out a way to keep from looking like I have {name the color} chickenpox.

My contractor during the rebuild had me in the loop on a lot of stuff. I help, costs go down. Did about half the electrical work myself. A good chunk of the plumbing, etc.

When it came time for painting he asked, "You in on this?" I picked up a nearby 2x4 and handed to him. "I'd rather you beat me with that than paint."

The sub he brought in did an amazing job especially on the staining of the cabinets. Sometimes you just have to let the experts do it.