Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

SSR or CDP?

astephenson

I've been shooting SSP with a Glock 17 or 34 for a couple of years (still a SS, but I've made noticable improvements as of late). I've been shooting at least 3 matches a month, and I feel that I need a change of pace before I get burned out. I'd like to try a new division and get a new gun to go with it.

I just sold my G17, and I'm looking at either the STI Spartan (probably from Brazos with their "High Performance Package") or the S&W 686 SSR.

Any input would be appreciated.

Your not going to find a lot of competition, or at least not around here, in SSR. CDP is the next popular behind SSP around here.

There are several fine wheelgun shooters around these parts.

FYI, I dont think Brazos will do a performance package on a Spartan (we bought one 6 months ago and they wouldnt then). However, YMMV.

That sucks...thanks for the heads up. That may sway my decision.

Get a .45 1911. You can shoot ESP and CDP with it.

Never thought about that...230gr. bullets travelling at a mind-numbing 543 FPS to make PF LOL. Thanks, Joe.

Alex Stephenson

Hello: Just buy the Spartan and shoot it. It will work great. The only thing you will need to do if you reload is change the recoil spring to a 14lb ISMI and the mainspring to a 17lb ISMI. I have over 4000 rounds through mine now and it is still tight. I am going to send it off for hard chrome and Ion Bond after Double Tap. Hope this helps. Thanks, Eric

I've been shooting SSP with a Glock 17 or 34 for a couple of years (still a SS, but I've made noticable improvements as of late). I've been shooting at least 3 matches a month, and I feel that I need a change of pace before I get burned out. I'd like to try a new division and get a new gun to go with it.

I just sold my G17, and I'm looking at either the STI Spartan (probably from Brazos with their "High Performance Package") or the S&W 686 SSR.

Any input would be appreciated.