Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ignorance Is Bliss

Bubber

I was reading a Hand Gun magazine, err ok looking at the pictures, and noticed the recommended two handed grip for the revo. Where you lock down your stronghand thumb with your weakhand thumb. Am I missing something? I have never used this style before. I have been shooting revos a few years. Does anyone use this style and what are the benefits? Just curious cause now I've seen it in two magazines.

I've seen lots of people use this style. It's more or less THE classic way of holding a revolver with two hands. When I started shooting revolver two or three years ago, this is what I was told to do.

AFAIK, there are no benefits whatsoever. I switched to "thumbs pointing to target" style (this is starting to sound like a cheap '70 kung fu movie).

It surprises me that you've never heard of it. You've been shooting revolver way longer than I have, and almost everybody I know that shooting the old rotator uses this style.

I have seen lots of revo shooters use the weak thumb crossed over the strong thumb/wrist so that the weak thumb is pointing off to the right. I haven't seen anyone use the weak thumb to actually lock down the strong thumb on the left. I tried it during a practice session where I was working on thumb placement but I didn't like it and the old weak thumb pointing to the right method just seems like a bad habit if you are going to shoot semi-autos.

-ld

I used to use the flying thumb, you know the thumb sticking straight up, in the early years but changed to have my S.H. reast on the cylinder release, and both thumbs pointed forward. But I am continually learning and if some thing would help I am willing to try it. Thanx guys Oh and Underlug the speedsticks work better if you take them out of the package first. B)

Bubber,