Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Primer Problems

I did a quick search but could not find the same issue. On my 550 when loading small pistol primers all works well. But if I switch over to the large pistol the primers will, on occassion, pop a primer from the primer cup out as I am raising the handle. I took the z shape rod out and work the prime station by hand and the problem does not happen as frequently. Other than the loose nut on the handle what do I need to look at?.. I have been using a Dillon for some 10 years or so. Thanx rdd

Me too. :angry2: Seems to happen when case hangs on powder die and I not so gently bring the handle up/plunger down. If I'm careful when backing the powder die out of the case, there's less chance of a seismic event to make the primer hop out of the cup, FWIW.

I may have answered my own question. I found an extra large primer plastic tip and replaced the old one on the primer tube. It seems to be working now, I just have to go slow so I don't get the primers to flip sideways. May have to slick up the primer bar a smidge. :mellow:

I may have answered my own question. I found an extra large primer plastic tip and replaced the old one on the primer tube. It seems to be working now, I just have to go slow so I don't get the primers to flip sideways. May have to slick up the primer bar a smidge. :mellow:

If the primer slide is hanging up at all, clean it thoroughly and apply a small amount of powdered graphite underneath it, absolutely no oil or grease. I get my graphite at the hardware store in the lock section.

Make sure the primer slide is taking the cup about .030" PAST the tip of the magazine tube, if you don't you will have problems. It needs to be adjusted a couple times when switching primer sizes, after that you can find a happy medium for both large and small primers.

It's probably not a bad idea to keep posting my 550 priming system adjustment notes (from a conversation with Gary at Dillon) in these threads.