Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Disengage Safety....When?

shaughn leayme

This question occured to me in relation to watching people at the local range, during dry fire and live fire.

Some have the safety flicked off with the pistol on the upward swing (6 - 10 inches from the holster) others at 45 degrees, almost level and others when the pistol is aimed at the target.

Is there a consensus on where exactly the safety goes off ? or is it subjective, for example: as long as it's done in a safe manner.

Just curious.

I'm new to IPSC,  but afer watching Matt Burketts DVD's and changing my grip to start with the thumb on the safety, I find it real easy to flick it off sooner than I use to.  Before changing grips (not sure if I'll stick with it) I would pull from the holster with the thumb under the safety and have to make a motion up and down to disengage.  Seemed safer but slower.  Having the thumb on it causes me to keep a relaxed grip on the draw because if I "tighten down", the safety gets squeezed off.  In the end I like Matt's method, but have not worked on it enough to be 100% comfortable that I will not sweep the safety off early (in the 45deg area) as opposed to where I like it to come off, in the "pushing out" part of my presentation.

Clear as mud? :)

For me the safety goes off as gun goes out toward target and before sight picture is obtained.

I'll bet if the "Truth be known", most people probably take the safety off as soon as they grab the gun

I’ve seen numerous AD’s (a couple by GM’s) as a result of this VERY BAD, EVIL HABIT!!  

In FIST-FIRE we teach you to keep your thumb UP on the draw to avoid disengaging the thumb safety prematurely. You can still C-Clamp the gun on the front and back strap with the fingers in front and the lower portion of the thumb (where it connects to the hand) in the back.  When both hands come together around the gun, THEN the safety comes off and the trigger finger goes in.