Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Good Sight Picture After Recoil, Not On Target....

rookieglocker

Hi everybody, I've been lurking around this forum for a while and I've found a ton of good information that helped improve my shooting, so thanks everyone for this place.

I'm now having a problem with recoil management and follow up. As I shoot a target(std pistol 7 inch diameter, 18 m) the rounds go where they should, the gun recoils straight up, and the next sight alignment is good but not on target :blink: The gun is aligned slightly higher and to the right.

I tried both in iso and weaver to see if there's any difference but I keep having to manually retrack the sights back on target thus killing my splits(about 0.4-0.5 :( )

I used the search function but with no luck, feel free to redirect me to any good post on the subject!

I shoot a g19 w/ truglo TFO, I've been shooting for about 2 years and about 4k rounds,

I plan to start IDPA when I feel I have decent skills.

Please forgive me if there are misspells/errors but I'm from Italy and my english is not perfect!

thanks in advance!

Edited by rookieglocker

That might be as simple as how you are lined up with the target to start with.

Your Natural Point of Aim (NPA) my already have you pointing the gun high and right to start with. Thus, requiring you to muscle the gun to the center of the target each time.

Try presenting the gun with your eyes closed a few times. Then, open your eyes and see where the gun is on the target. Adjust your stance, as needed, until your NPA is lined up with the center of the target.

Once you get that squared away, shoot some Bill Drills. (6 fast shots)

That might be as simple as how you are lined up with the target to start with.

Your Natural Point of Aim (NPA) my already have you pointing the gun high and right to start with. Thus, requiring you to muscle the gun to the center of the target each time.