Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ditch The Sp Loaded Or Keep It?

tryan1968

First, let me say thank you to all. My learning curve in IPSC has been greatly reduced because of the sound advice many of you have made. The site is a wealth of information. The reponses are well thoughtout and give great insight to the Poster. I have made steady progress in my placing in matches, do in a large part to what I have read here at this site. Thanks.

I am new to IPSC and have been competing in matches since Aug 06. I compete in Single Stack Divison and use a Springfield Loaded model. It has over 6000 rds through it so far.

My concern:

The slide is loose. I replaced the recoil spring at 3000 rds with a Wolf 16lb spring. It has about 32nd of an inch to a 16th of an inch of movement side to side, vertically there is little movement. Without a mag in, it rattles like old pickup truck driving down a bumpy dirt road. Accuracy is ok, all in the A zone, if I do my part at 50 yds. It runs like the Ever-Ready bunny it keeps on going and going. I want to keep it that way. I was concerned about the play in the slide so I had a gunsmith take a look at it. I asked him if the loose slide fit was doing any harm to the pistol. He said no it was not.

Here's my question:

Should I replace the barrel and get the slide tightened? I'm concerned the metal could be soft. Is that type of wear normal? If so, do most shooters have to get their 1911s retightened after that many rds? Should I just ditch this gun and build another one? I have a Springer GI model laying and waiting to get its day in the sun. Please, keep in mind my buget is tight, back in college. What I have to spend on shooting is now mostly spent on reloading components and match fees.

Thanks and for any help.

Keep shooting. If you tighten the gun it will loosen up very quickly. You could use something like Accurail process and it will last but I would not bother as the cost is half of a new gun like the one you are shooting.