Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Matt Cheely

Matt Cheely

Ok, I'll jump on the bandwagon as it sounds like fun. I'll post in here as I come up with what I think has gotten me to where I am in an effort to help out everyone else.

I will warn you that I don't like to be told how to do things and I often find my own way. Sometimes it ends up being like the other GM's and sometimes not. Since I was a kid I've always learned the hard way, but if I teach it to myself, I know the why, along with the how, all at the same time.

I started shooting IPSC in Febuary 2005, so many of the learning experiences are still somewhat fresh in my mind and I hope I can pull some of that out for the newer shooters.

I'd appreciate it if we'd keep the banter to a minimum (Keen!) and keep it more focused on constructive thoughts.

Edited by Matt Cheely

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

So this is something that I was thinking about after I read IronEqulizer's topic about positive thinking and visualization.

When I started IPSC, I had no idea what a proper shooting stance was. I shot like the guys on TV. Thumbs crossed, finger on the trigger guard, head leaned way over looking down my arm, super tense, it was all wrong. And I had shot like this for years and years! After that first match I bought Brian's book, read the first chapeter or so, and flipped right to the technique section :ph34r: . After shooting that first match I quickly learned that I had to move when I was shooting, I couldn't do that. At this point I didn't know that I could dryfire to help my shooting, to me it was just playing around in the basement.