Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cheap Setup For Beginner

Slip_Hammer

I'm thinking about buying a single shot H&R in .308 (ultra hunter) with a Super Sniper 10-x42 scope.

I have zero experience with long range rifle shooting. I'm just looking for something basic/cheap, so I can get used to shooting (and loading) .308 at some distance, using a mil-dot scope, etc. I have a 600 yard range nearby, and 1,000 yard range a little farther away.

I have an H&R plinker in .17 rimfire that I love to shot, and it's pretty acurate for what it is, so I thought this might work.

What do you think? Is this enough to learn the basics on, or would I be better off spending a few hundred more on something like a Savage 10fp?

Thanks for your advice.

Rob

Get something that has a blind magazine at the very least and the capability for bottom metal later if at all possible. A Savage is a good starter, but a Remy 700 is a better starter. The Remy can be re-barrelled and dropped into a lot of stock options later versus the Savage. I would get a 700 in .308 to start with.

Don't bother spending on a cheap scope versus a Leupold at the very least. I tried a hunnert dollar BSA for kix and it was so bad that it's out in back with the beer cans now. I do not think the SS will be much better ;-/

I settled on a Leupold VariX III in 3.5x10 for the time being and find it acceptable for MOR out to 6-700 yards.

I'm just starting out in this too.... from what I've read, been told, most guys seriously into MOR or longe range rifle would probably think the Savage is ultra low buck and minimum entry into the game..... the H&R with a Super Sniper on it is kinda like putting a supercharger on a Yugo. For the cheapest rifle, I'd go with one of the Savages with a Choate, McMillan, or HS Precison stock, and the Super Sniper is probably the best bang for the buck in optics..... that would be a good start. Don't skimp on rings and bases as well.