Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dillon Powder Measure New & Old

Wait until you fiqure out the powder measure is junk.

Eh????? I've owned two different Dillon powder measures. Never had a problem with either. Both throw charges very consistently within a tenth of a grain. How does that qualify as junk?

Wait until you fiqure out the powder measure is junk.

Throw it away now.................

9x21 :blink:

I've got 5 or 6 and they've all been fine. I'll give you $20 right now for that "junker".

I've been reloading on 1050 since 1989.

I bought a second one a 1 & 1/2 years ago and was disappointed to see the "improvements",

changes in dies & powder measure to name a few.

In my experience, the new powder measure (compared to the old style) is a clunky piece of junk.

If all of you have loaded on both RL1050 & Super1050's. You'll know what I'm talking about.

If you haven't, you probably don't know what your missing.

I've loaded with both powder measures. The new one is slightly clunky in operation, in terms of its motion - this being caused by the new double charge lockout features. However, it routinely drops proper charges and works just fine, and its safer than the previous version. It does not, in any way that I can tell, alter the feel of the press or its operation. It hardly relegates it to the "junk" status, in my mind.

EricW has an article on here on how to convert it back to the old style powder measure system, if you like.

One thing I think should be standard, though, personally, is the UniqueTek micrometer adjustment. Talk about sweet!!!!

One thing I think should be standard, though, personally, is the UniqueTek micrometer adjustment. Talk about sweet!!!!

I bought two, one for each powder measure I have.

I like to be able to make fine adjustments, it was a big help trying to get a very exact charge loading .32 ACP.