Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

You were lucky

benos

I wrote this some years ago. I thought it would be hysterical if I got a few guys together and taped it, with British accents of course. And then passed some copy's out to old-timers at the  Shot Show or something. Well, it turned out to be harder to tape than we thought, so we forgot about it. (I guess that's why we're shooters and not actors.) I had totally fotgotten about it until a friend brought it up again the other day. So I posted it here, for your entertainment, or not, in it's un-edited original version.

:)

Oh, and if it doesn't work for you, you obviously either - don't have a sense of humor, are not a Monty Python fan, or haven't seen "Live, at the Hollywood Bowl," or all three.

"YOU WERE LUCKY"

Who would have thought, 20 years ago, we would be sitting around here in all our glory discussing the virtues of the "Seeless" versus the "Misspoint."

Yeeeah, back when I started shooting, all we had were singlestack 45’s.

Fortyfives! I used to dream of having a 45. I was lucky to have a gun magazine with a picture of a 45.

Gun magazine! Huh! I had to save for 6 weeks to buy a used gun magazine for our  ‘hole-in-the-wall gunshop and he could only afford to stock one gun.

But we enjoyed shooting more then, when we were poor.

Because we were POOR!

I remember back when I was first shooting matches, no one even thought of making an optical sight.

Optical sight! Huh! I was lucky to have an adjustable sight on my old gun.

Adjustable sights. I was lucky to have a Micro fixed sight that Clyde from the Pistol Parlor gave me off one of his used pistols to put on my first comp gun.

You were lucky to have a comp gun. Back when I was shooting steel matches in the gravelpit all I had was a 5" gun with a 6" barsto barrel.

Six-inch barsto! That was the trickiest gun I’d ever seen. I was lucky to have a 5" government model that my wife bought for me for Christmas with the money she saved from babysitting.