Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Local Club Matches

Lostcrawfish

Just curious if anyone's club does or has considered adding 1 or more steel challenge stages to the regular weekly stages, or local clubs that actually run all 7 stages on a regular basis? I see quite a few guys in our club that have a lot of trouble on steel at ranges >15 yards, and it gave me fits until I started practicing more on longer steel shots. Seems to me it would not only be a lot of fun, but a great opportunity to get more work in to improve accuracy/speed skills on small targets. I know it's not exactly cheap to set up 7 stages, I priced the steel cost for the whole setup on the net at about $2700 without stands. Possibly cheaper from local industrial yards. I asked a couple of ROs/discipline directors in our club about it, but the initial response wasn't exactly overwhelming.....

That is a great idea. Just remember that Open guns with Major loads will kill the steel eventually....Velocity kills! Some shooters wont like it because they will have to use their sights and aim, hence possibly the reason that they arent exactly excited about it.

I set up the 7 stages several times a year just for practice since I go to the Steel Challenge, and it has helped my IPSC shooting immensely! DougC

If it is a USPSA match, steel has to fall to score.

True so just run it as a side match that is not scored as part of your regular USPSA match.

I am just starting to get folks interested in shooting steel at my club. I got a dueling tree and have instigated some 1on1 stuff. It is fun to see the better shooters flounder like a fish out of water <Evil laugh> :D