Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Super 1050 and Crimped 9mm brass

RangerTrace

So, I've been loading 9mm on my 1050 for several years now and have never had an issue until recently.  I have the swager installed on my 1050, but twice this weekend the press locked up.  It appears the swager won't open the pocket on the crimped cases.  I've checked and it's going up into the primer pocket as it should.  I already chunked them in the trash or I'd post a pic......

thoughts?

There really isn't much of finesse there - if the swager rod gets stopped and it's *not* off center or otherwise impeded by anything other than the crimp, you can either power through it and force the swaging, or you can stop the press and remove the brass. The purpose of the swager is to force the opening of a certain size to ensure a primer will fit on the next station. So, the rod will either get through and make the opening, or it will stop the press before the potential kaboom at the next station. 

I'd check alignment to make sure the rod is in the center of the case, then make a decision on how much force is too much and either accept the stoppage or add some force. Of course, make sure the backer is set up correctly so you're not adding stress to the shellplate. 

Also, check the tip of the swager rod as that can be a potential problem. It should be slightly beveled so that the upward force initially pushes the crimp to the side, not straight up. 

3 hours ago, RangerTrace said:

thoughts

The thickness of the 9mm base varies between brands enough to create difference in depth of the swage rod.  The answer is to get the FW Arms self centering hold down die, https://fwarms.com/shop/reloading/hold-downs/fw-arms-auto-case-centering-dshd

You could the hold down die adjusted for thinner bases and then the thick one comes along and it stops.