Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

N330 For 9mm Major

Robbie Wheaton Jr

I heard an interesting discussion from some friends at the range the other day. It seems they are using N330 in 9mm major. Has anyone else had any experience with this powder in their S_i's? If you have used it what is your barrel length, do you have any ports in the barrel? Does this powder have a large flash like some of the other VV powders? I know I know questions questions!!! Sorry, but I am new to open and appreciate any feedback.

robbie,

Just to let you know ,N330 is the very best for 9mm, major or minor.

You need to get a Vihtavouri load manual, I have been using N330 for the last 6 years shooting GSSF , it is the only powder I will use in 9mm. It is very clean burning and has a low flash in my GSSF powder puff loads.

But my best suggestion is to get yourself a Vihtavouri load manual, it is the best place to start ,when looking for loads useing VV powders.

Good luck and happy shooting with the N330.

Jeff

robbie,

You need to get a Vihtavouri load manual, I have been using N330 for the last 6 years shooting GSSF , it is the only powder I will use in 9mm. It is very clean burning and has a low flash in my GSSF powder puff loads.

But my best suggestion is to get yourself a Vihtavouri load manual, it is the best place to start ,when looking for loads useing VV powders.

Good luck and happy shooting with the N330.

Jeff

6 years using n330!! thats awesome. just recently I loaded 300 rds of 147gr berrys and 3.5 of n330. I tried them out and so far so good. I doubt this load comes close to making major. but minor, maybe. ghost21 what bullet weight and how many grains of n330 are you using?

The VV Reloading Manual doesn't list any loads near Major for 9mm, so there's no point in getting a manual. Further, it's a faster powder than those used by most people for 9Major, so while it may be fine for Minor it probably wouldn't be the best choice for Major.