Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hammer fall to half cock after fired

Benevolence

Hi all,

Just did first test firing of a 9mm 2011 I’ve been building and I am having some issues; I believe they are not related to each other but I may be wrong. To note the related parts, I have a Wilson Combat square profile firing pin stop, Ed Brown perfection sear, Ed Brown Barstock Hardcore hammer, Fusion slide, 80% Black Mountain frame I machined to finish. 

When firing, I am often getting light strikes, despite a stock, heavy mainspring. Furthermore, the hammer often falls to half cock after firing a round, but not when cocked manually (with or without trigger pulled). Also, the hammer will have an audible ‘click’ if I press the hammer back the slightest bit after racking the slide (with or without trigger pulled). I believe this is the sear engaging fully, from a ‘partial’ position. 

I believe there could be several causes for this but I could use help in narrowing it down if possible. One could be the overtravel screw was not screwed in much, and allowed for the leaf spring to lose pressure on the sear after disconnector pushed down? The other would be a sear that is too long on the side that engages the hammer hooks? Lastly, perhaps I didn’t deck the top of the frame enough and the slide is sitting too high to fully cock the hammer?

I’m a bit perplexed by the light strikes, perhaps square profile FP stop not allowing the hammer to hit the FP hard enough? My previous 2011 build did not have these issues. 

Thanks in advance for any input!

Edited by Benevolence

Not an expert. At all. 

1. Assuming the ammo is not a variable; it's good ammo that works in other guns. 

2. I do not think your overtravel screw theory is viable. 

3. For grins/giggles I would take a firing pin stop from a working gun and install it; hopefully isolating that part of the problem.