Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Holosun 407co

MaddHatter

• 3 weeks later...

I debated it, but at the time there were no pics of it and no dealer nearby, went 407c, 2moa dot it's fine.

Seeing the CO it appears I would've liked it just fine since the small ring does what I thought it would and blooms into a largish dot. I don't think turning it down and using the circle would actually be useful for much.

• 2 months later...

I've been using one for a few months now.  I'm a fan but I don't think it's for everyone nor is it an "RMR KILLER!".  Up until now my preference has been for RMRs with 6.5moa dots and still is on carry/duty guns.  My CO guns have 5moa SROs.  I like bigger dots.  They're easier to see at lower brightness levels so I don't have to "bloom" the dot to make it bigger/easier to pickup.  I tried the 507C with the 2moa dot and 35moa circle, but I found the ring too busy and the 2-moa dot too small by itself.   I'm pretty spoiled by the SRO's large window, but the 407CO has a few advantages over the SRO and RMR.  The adjustment dials are more positive and I don't need to use an optic plate.  The glass is clearer than both, and the 8moa ring is clean even with my astigmatism.  The Trijicon dots are always a bit fuzzy to my eyes.  It also doesn't have as deep of a blue hue as the Trijjicon glass.  The blue hue is a notch filter that allows the dot to be brighter with less power, so while the Trijicons have great battery life, I change my batteries every 6 months so it's kind of a moot point.  I only use Duracell 2032 batteries in my optics.  They've proven to be more robust in my slide mounted optics than Energizer or Sanyo 2032s.  The auto-adjust feature on the Holosuns is too stingy and never bright enough for me so I just use the manually adjustable constant on mode.  The Trijicon's are also a bit too dim under auto mode and the SRO is borderline unusable.  Holosuns shake awake mode is pretty nice.  I'd probably disable it on a carry gun, but for