Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Looking at a transitional cz 75 for uspsa backup and some idpa

TobyJ

Long story short-ish...I shoot a shadow 2 in uspsa, and I'm looking to put something together with similar size and feel, that could be a backup to my shadow 2, but also allow me to shoot idpa (shadow 2 is too heavy).

The easy answer is probably a 75 shadow, but in researching those, I found several folks who had built up pre b 75's, and claimed 'shadow like' performance. I've also come across some so called transitional 75's...no fpb, but square trigger guard, pinned front sight, etc.  With a few upgraded parts and some polishing, I could see this becoming a real competitor. I dont see a lot of shadows on the used market, and when I do, they are pretty pricey, so the transitional project seems like it would be a winner there. As well. And I enjoy projects...

But I'm far from a cz expert, so I'm looking to you all for anything I might be overlooking, tips, thoughts, etc. 

Toby J

Any 75 variant with the right Cajun Gun Works goodies will be an excellent performer for USPSA, IDPA too if you watch the rules. "Shadow" and barrel bushing related tweeks are nice for bragging rights but they will not effect your match score and I have yet to hear of a base model CZ that does not have excellent accuracy. The FPB is not a big deal and also certainly not enough to effect your match score, particularly if you install a CGW lighter FPB spring.

Were it I, first I would look at what is to be found used, great deals pop up. Buying new I'd look to a base model SP01or 75 or 85 depending on which felt best in hand & then Cajunize it myself, or have it one by someone like CGW if you do not like to tinker. 

Edited by IHAVEGAS

Thanks IHAVEGAS