Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I read some old posts and picked up Surefire, Streamlight, Fenix and UltraAspire as

recommended brands.

They range from $75 to $200, and 350 - 1,200 lumens.

1.  How many lumens do you need, tactically ?

2.  Any input on flashlights that you really love, and really didn't love ?

3.  Better if the light is re-chargeable ?

I'd love to hear from people who are experienced with these flashlights - I'm

a total newbie in the flashlight department.

These are all 1/4 to 1/3 of a pound - anything lighter and smaller that works

in a social emergency ?

I am going out of my lane in this.

Last year I took a 4th class with Kyle Lamb that was green lights, flashlights, muzzle brakes.. etc.

Showed up with 10 year old flashlights and was “that guy” for the class. Firing at distance was difficult and if you put your rifle under a car the 2nd shot was all dust.

He did a recent blog or video on lights, I just tried…if someone with better skills tries they may be able to find the link.

jon

Edited by p7fl
content

I’m a Fenix ambassador (for professional purposes more than tactical) so not an actual expert but I’ve played with various brands of lights a bit along with them rifle mounted, doing house clearing drills when family is out, etc, and always run back to Fenix.  

Are we talking to carry or attached to the gun?  I swear by the Fenix PD25 for pretty much anything but also really like my PD35.  Depends on the size you’re willing to carry.  The PD32 is a nice middle ground and will be my next purchase to try out if I get another.