Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

N320 sensitivity or chrono off?

MNshooter

I’m getting odd results from the same lot of ammo from two large matches and my personal chrono. Is this reflective of the sample size; lighting conditions; bad chrono; temperature; or combination? I QC’d this ammo very closely so I have a high degree of confidence in the OAL and consistent charge weight but I could be the factor, of course.

My results are also very different than my experience with N320 in 9mm - always very consistent. I’m nervous to head to Nationals and not make PF. Given my charge weight, I’m equally nervous to increase further. My load is a 180 grain coated lead ACME FP at 1.185” and 4.9 grains N320.

Section match: ES of 34, avg PF 167, ~74 degrees, 3 shots, actual bullet weight 178.6 grains.

Area match: ES of 3, avg PF 176, ~94 degrees, 3 shots, actual bullet weight 180 grains.

My chrono: ES of 108, avg PF 172, ~39 degrees, 20 shots, assumed weight of 180

My chrono: ES of 93, avg PF 168, ~64 degrees, 20 shots, assumed weight of 180

My tests at lower charge weights were more consistent but still much poorer than when I loaded 9mm.

Thoughts?

Ha, I have chrono issues.  So my first response is the chrono.  VV320 has been very consistent for me over the last 15 years.  Yes I had National and Area Chrono results and use that ammo as a control.

The only time VV320 ran slow for me was a Tulsa Nationals for L10.  It made major but barely.  Two days later at Limited no problem.  L10 was very cold.  L was normal.  At 39 degrees I would expect a lower PF not higher.  Check your chrono if you do not have any control ammo to compare.  

If you have watched the Chrono guys using two chrono, generally you will see two different velocities for the same shot.  Chronos are just weird.  

5 hours ago, MNshooter said:

Section match: ES of 34, avg PF 167, ~74 degrees, 3 shots

Area match: ES of 3, avg PF 176, ~94 degrees, 3 shots