Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bullet? Barrel? User? Poor accuracy at 25yds

CTJer

I shoot a gen 4 Glock 17. OEM barrel with 147g coated truncated cone over 3.2g of TG. 

I get pretty crappy hits on paper at 25yds.  I

figured it was just user error.  I’ve worked on slow fire trigger control and shooting from a bench and while it eliminates MIKES, it’s still all over the target.  (USPSA metric). 

I’ve had a few conversations with other glock shooters and some are fine with the coated and accuracy.  

Anyone have the same issue?

I’m thinking of buying a few sample packs from other coated manufacturers, possibly replacing the barrel with a KKM, or if I have too, go to a Hornady 147g FMJ.  

Possibly go up in diameter?

what to try?   

26 minutes ago, IHAVEGAS said:

If 10 yard accuracy is good and 25 yard accuracy is bad it is good to verify that you are not crimping into the coating.

Ok, one more thing to consider.  ha

I am new to reloading, just started in Feb.    I'll have to look into that.

Thank you.

I also shoot a 17 with 147 gr coated. I was able to cut my group size in half moving from stock barrel to a kkm (8” to about 4” offhand at 25). With that being said, my stock barrel shot great with plated but the kkm does not. I believe this was because the plated I had were .355 vs .356 for the coated.

Before committing to a new barrel, I’d try a few different bullets (including factory) and shoot them from a rest at 25.

And, as mentioned above, too much crimp can cause accuracy issues too. Pull some of your reloads to see if you’re crimping through the coating.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

15 hours ago, Hi-Power Jack said:

How is accuracy at 25 yards with factory ammo ?

How is YOUR accuracy with any other gun you own at 25 yards ?

I presume, from what you wrote, that you're getting 12+" groups at 25 yards ?

Gotta test that out.

Never really shot much at that distance. 

Yes.

12 hours ago, andrewtac said: