Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

1100 Woes

Garrett

I went to a local bowling pin shoot last night. They usually just do revolvers & pistols. But this week they went with shotguns as well. Club rules require #4 buckshot or larger. All I could find locally was some full-powered Remington 00 Buck.

I don't believe I have ever shot that particular ammo through my gun, but I did not anticipate any problems. But when I started shooting, the gun would malfunction on nearly every shot. It would eject the empty hull, but it would fail to load the next shell.

The only other ammo I had with me were the 6 shells on the sidesaddls. These were Federal "reduced recoil" 00 Buck. I loaded with these and then the rest with the Rem ammo. The first 6 shots fed and functioned fine, but as soon as I shot one of the full-powered loads, it failed to feed the next round again.

I was able to borrow some reduced loads from some of the other shooters, and finish the match. These all ran fine as well.

So why would a gas operated gun fail to cycle with full-powered loads (more gas) but run just fine with reduced loads (less gas)?

IF you bought the gun used it may have been modified to run on light loads. Gas port size or spring. Use a drill to measure the port size and somebody can probably tell ya the default size.

I went to a local bowling pin shoot last night.  They usually just do revolvers & pistols.  But this week they went with shotguns as well.  Club rules require #4 buckshot or larger.  All I could find locally was some full-powered Remington 00 Buck. 

I don't believe I have ever shot that particular ammo through my gun, but I did not anticipate any problems.  But when I started shooting, the gun would malfunction on nearly every shot.  It would eject the empty hull, but it would fail to load the next shell.