Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

A few questions from a BEginner

nzfubz

Firstly thank you in advance for any answers to my questions.

I'm a IPSC shooter from New Zealand and I have managed to get on a work jaunt to Las Vegas from the 31st Jan to 7th Feb 2016. My question to those in the know is are there any competitions, clubs or other pistol shooting events on in the area at that time that I can be a spectator at? If not what would the locals recommend in the way of ranges or gun stores to visit?

My other question is I'm struggling to work out the export restrictions from the US back to NZ. I would like to purchase a few parts and accessories while I'm there but I am confused as to if the $100 value restriction applies to personal purchases taken back in my luggage or is it just for stores exporting? I will have all the appropriate NZ import permits so the problems will not be at this end.

Any help on the above would be appreciated.

I'm a Lawyer, but I don't know much about the US Arms Export Control Act. My recollection is that the $100 deminimus exception is in the Admin Rules, not the Statute. Penalties for violation are up to $1 megabuck and a long stay in Club Fed. I stay a long way away from anything that could earn me penalties like that.

The time period you're going to be in Lost Wages is rather cold outside. I don't think you'll find much shooting going on there outside. There are lots of Commercial ranges there, and they all seem to rent machine-guns.

Can't you shoot the match if somebody loans you some gear? Heck with watching. Go shoot! I'm sure somebody here will hook you up?

If someone will spot me a ticket, and a the entry fee... I will gladly loan you whatever you need. If that is too much to ask for I will get you a shooting belt for free. I am cursed lefty so holster would might be difficult.

This is the response from the DDTC just in case everyone wanted to know.