Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Injuries from training to watch out for?

MilkMyDuds

I am relatively new to the practical shooting sport. However, I have already been hearing a lot about "Tennis Elbow", "Carpal Tunnel Syndrome" and tendinitis in other locations (wrist, shoulder, etc.)

Coming from long distance running where ITBS and other injuries are so common among many new runners, I know how devastating these injuries can be, to the extent many runners give up the sport all together. I suspect it is the same in the shooting sport. It is always the new players who get injured most easily, often due to the initial passion and over-training combined with the lack of scientific training methods.

I am sure age and background play important roles here. Young athletes coming from other sports into practical shooting are much less likely to get injured, while older and more inactive folks may find them hitting injuries much more sooner and harder in their progression. However, I do believe even the younger and active crowds are susceptible to these injuries if they have not previously strengthened or prepared particular muscle/tendon groups used extensively in shooting.

Thus I seek the wisdom of experienced shooters here: What are the most common injuries resulted from over training, e.g. dry-firing, live-firing and even reloading? How do you prevent them? Are there daily exercises/stretches you do to strengthen or massage critical tendons/muscles for shooting?

With little to no medical expertise, I can think of these areas prone to over-training injuries:

1. Finger tendons - gripping
  2. Wrist joints - drawing, reloading and recoil control
  3. Elbow tendons and joints - griping and recoil control
  4. Shoulder tendons and joints - drawing, reloading and recoil control
  5. Knee joints - entry/exit/movements

Thanks in advance for your inputs.