Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Thoughts on expanding: Lee powder through expander vs Hornady expandi

RandyLahey

I have my Lee Loadmaster setup for 9mm and I've been fairly happy with it. I know people love to hate Lee, and it is NOT a perfect press, but for my $ and time, it's been decent and has a fairly low rate of failed rounds(missing/tipped primers, bent brass rims etc...)

When I only shot plated bullets, the Lee powder through expander seemed to work very well. Now that I'm shooting some BBI bullets, I noticed that going from 124gr 9mm Xtreme plated RN to 147gr BBI flat point bullets, I needed to open up the bell quite a bit on the cases. Without opening up the cases that much, I would get some shaving of the coating and leading of the barrel. I think I may have been over crimping just a touch, but I'd say 98% of the issue was shaving, as I could see some plastic black shaving at times. So I opened up the bell as much as I could, while still being able to seat bullets. If I opened up too far, I could get crushed rims of the case on entering the seating die. Finding a happy medium, I was able to get the adjustment to where it seems I avoid the shaving, and don't get any hang ups on the seating die. Also adjusted the LCD to just take the bell off, and measure at 3.77-3.78.

I am also using a Hornady expanding die in station 2 of that press to help hold the shell in place while priming. I have it adjusted to just hold the shell and not bell the case. I got to thinking the other night, that maybe the Hornady would do a better job of expanding the case w/out excessively belling the mouth of the case????????? I've never used the Hornady to expand the case though, and before I start messing with the dies I thought I'd ask here.

I ask these questions as I've come across threads talking about "improper" expanding, but I wasn't really following which dies were good or bad at this process.

thx