Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Standard Kydex vs Race Holster for Limited

KOBGT

HOLSTER for LIMITED Division question:

Who out there uses a standard Bladetech/Production type holster vs a CR Speed, DAA, etc type race holster?

I have tried both and I just feel more secure with the standard holster, but I think I could take a little off my draw speed with a race type holster. You read stories about people dropping their guns, etc out of a race holster... I am new to limited so I guess I'm just hanging on to my production habits.

Well, I'm a nobody and have used both a CR Speed and Bladetech and ended up staying with the Bladetech because I could "go after" the gun more aggressively. I've never felt like I was at a disadvantage on my draws. I've done years of dry-fire and live-fire practice on the timer and at best, when things were perfect, I might shave off a tenth of a second using a "race holster". However, when things were less than perfect....like most of the time in a match, having the simplicity of an open top, traditional holster just allowed me to focus on what really matters...the shooting.

Having said all that, blah blah blah, go check out videos of Taran Butler and Nils Jonasson. Watch Taran's draw from a Bladtech DOH and Nils' draw from a standard Bladetech without the DOH attachment...doesn't seem to hurt them any. And, unlike me, they're good...

Cheers623

DVC

I use bladetech's version of a race holster. That being said, I've timed myself quicker with an als retention safari land holster. I think the reason is that I slow down to make sure I get a good group on the race holster where as on the standard type I just grip and rip

Body build has a lot to do with how much faster you will be with a race holster. I am all legs with a short torso and long arms. Racemaster is MUCH faster for me. I don't have to lift the gun as high to clear the holster. Barrel length comes into play also. 6" gun will generally be faster from a race type.