Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What're the real advantages of a shorter barrel?

I'm new to 3gun and am looking to replace my 20in 8 shot Mossberg 500 with a Benelli m2 26in. I've notice that a lot of people opt for 21 or 24 inch barrels for 3 gun, but then add extended tubes that go way past the muzzle. I can see the advantages of a shorter barrel in terms of handling, but I don't see how these advantages transfer over when you have an extended tube on it as well that makes it just as long as an extended barrel. I was wondering if there was something I was missing since longer barrels give you a better sight plane and it only adds a hair of weight and no length with a 10 round tube.

Other than saving a bit of weight I don't think it's a big deal to have a longer barrel any more. Back when it was 8 round tubes only it was nice to have a shorter gun but now you really want a minimum of a 10 round tube. On one on my guns a 10 round tube is about flush with a 26" barrel. I justice got a new 3 gun shotgun a few months ago and a 28 inch was around $200 cheaper than any of the 26" model's that I could find so I picked up the 28". I am running a 12 round mag tube which is still a few inches past the end of the barrel and with just a fiber front and sighting down that long rib I have had no issues with having slugs find their target.

Edited by alma