Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Having an issue with Squibs

PSSOH22

Hey guys. Im not a newbie to reloading! And short of my first attempts, i havent had any issues like this. Im loading on a 650. 125 gr lcn over 4.1 gr's of Solo 1k.

Atleast 1 every 50 rounds though is squibbing. I made 20k of these and have shot probably 15k of it with no issues until now. I am trying to narrow the problems down and figure out how i can trouble shoot it. My OAL is good, crimp looks a little light but acceptable. I dont think it is an issue with rounds not getting powder because on the few i have had, there has been burnt powder all over the casing. My next thought is i have noticed that some of my primers are flattened.

My initial thought was to weigh 100-200 rounds individually and pull out anything that could possibly be on the light side and see what happens then fire the lighter weight ones individually.

Does anyone else have any input on how i could possibly trouble shoot this better without turning the entirity into range ammo?

Sorry to hear you are having problems. I had a malfunction on a SDB and made a bunch do squibs. The rounds you have probably do not have powder. The primer alone will make a filthy case, so you cannot say they have powder based on the case being dirty. Load up one and check it out yourself. I do not think you will be able to weigh the rounds and sort out the light ones. There is too much variance in brass weight to be able to find rounds that are light and expect them to be the bad guys. I now have a couple of 650s and both have the alarm on them that will go off if the case is empty or over filled I had to just shoot mine up and keep a squib rod in my pocket. Or you can pull them and reuse everything.