Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Unexpected Chrono Results

ScottQ

I'm quite new to reloading, but so far I've loaded up 500 rounds or so of 9mm and they seem to be quite accurate and I've had no issues shooting them. So far so good. I'm using a single stage Lee press to begin with, and I'm quite careful and meticulous when I load my rounds.

Thus far I've used 125gr Sierra Tournament Master FMJ bullets and two different loads with Titegroup. The first load is 4.0 grains of Titegroup loaded at 1.09 OAL. With the understanding that those were probably a bit higher power factor than they needed to be, I loaded a second batch with 3.9 grains of Titegroup, and an OAL of 1.12 which from what I understand should place the bullet closer to the lands and improve accuracy a bit.

My ultimate goal is a nice soft shooting and accurate round for Production class matches using either my Springfield XD or Glock 34. Figuring I didn't want to leave anything to chance, I went out to the range today and broke out my new chronograph, a Chrony F1. This is where the unexpected results come.

I was expecting something around 1075-1100 FPS out of the first load, and somewhere around 1050-1075 FPS from the second load, with the second one giving me around a 131-132 power factor, which is around what I was shooting for.

It was a nice, cool, cloudy day and seemed like a good day to test my loads and my new chronograph, so off I went. Set the chronograph up exactly 10 feet from the muzzle, with a target dot set up behind it so my rounds should be a nice consistent 4" or so above the chrony.

All went well, and I didn't even shoot the chronograph! :)

Except the velocities I measured were much higher than I was expecting, and I was hoping some more experienced shooters and reloaders could give me some insight. Here's the data:

Load #1:

Sierra 125gr FMJ

4.0 gr Titegroup

1.09 OAL

Each string was 5 shots:

Glock 34 (5.3" barrel): Average Velocity 1205.2 FPS, Standard Deviation 11.30