Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Moon Clip Reloading Technique

Terrill7

I have a S&W 625 (.45) which uses moon clips, and I am somewhat new at competitive shooting. When I try to reload, I tend to be "all thumbs" when trying to unload the spent clip, pulling a new clip from the moon clip holders on my belt, and getting it into the cylinder. All the fumbling costs me a lot of time.

No one I know uses moon clips, so I have no one to observe doing it correctly. Can anyone out there describe a proper technique for me, or direct me to a diagram or picture somewhere on the web, so I can get an idea of how to reload efficiently?

Thank you in advance.

terrill7

Terril7, Welcome to the Forums

Best advice is get Jerry Miculeks Video for Revolver (from Brian) he not only tells you how but shows you in slow motion, name of video is Advanced Revolver or something like that. (pretty bad I have one and can't remember the correct title)

He also tells how the other type of reload is done but with 20 years of experimenting you can't go wrong with his example (he has already done the work of testing for the rest of us, we just need to follow his example)

But until then here is a quick version:

after you fire your last shot, push the cylinder latch button with your right hand, when it is unlocked take your second and third finger of your left hand and push the cylinder open and put them through the hole where the cylinder was to hold the gun.

now take your thumb of your left hand (where the gun is now) and push the eject rod to clear the cylinder of spent shells while turning the gun muzzle up but not too far as to break the 180 degree rule. at the same time reach down and get a new moon clip off the belt with the right hand and bring the gun down to belt level and put the new clip in (you now have the gun muzzle down) TIME Saving note::::

do not try to put the whole clip in the cylinder, get the bullets lined up with the holes and just drop it in, it will go...