Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

SX3 for wife, questions

Matt W

The wife looked at the VM and a SX3 today and preferred the SX3 over the VM. So, are the SX3's still a viable option for 3 gun? I've done some researching and it looks like other than a few Nordic goodies I'll need to open the loading port and get the piston sealed. I'd rather her get a VM, but hey she shoots so if she wants it, I can't say no, lol

Any suggestions on mod's for the SX3 are welcome to.

SX3 is a very viable choice...IMHO. Ive been running mine for 3 yrs now and it keeps getting better and better. Happy to share the mods Ive made if you're interested.

Sure, feel free to PM me with the mods.

They are fine shotguns. First, get the stock fit for her. Properly fit stocks beat you up less. Second, don't seal the piston, bad advice! It increases recoil and is harder on the gun. Keep the bolt locked back when in the safe and cycle it often. The recoil springs are real stiff and need some softening. After 1k rounds or so you will be ably to cycle light target loads, just takes patience to get there. Open loading port and weld lifter nose and it will be easier to load.

Edited by MarkCO

They are fine shotguns. First, get the stock fit for her. Properly fit stocks beat you up less. Second, don't seal the piston, bad advice! It increases recoil and is harder on the gun. Keep the bolt locked back when in the safe and cycle it often. The recoil springs are real stiff and need some softening. After 1k rounds or so you will be ably to cycle light target loads, just takes patience to get there. Open loading port and weld lifter nose and it will be easier to load.

Any tips on fitting the stock? And the one I can get now as opposed to waiting has a 28" barrel on it, so I'll have to get it trimmed down or find a shorter one. I know the SLP barrels fit I just need to locate one.