Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open Glock 9 major question......

msshooter

I have been shooting my g17 open gun in 9 major for about 9 months now with no issues. I am going to lighten my trigger a little and was wondering if anyone has used a lightned/extended stiker and light sping kits with 9 major? Any issues I might not be seeing?

"I have been shooting my g17 open gun in 9 major for about 9 months now with no issues".

Just a suggestion. If it isn't broke I wouldn't fix it. I have tried a lighter striker springs in my G17's with the standard striker.

They DO make the trigger pull lighter, but they made the gun unreliable with light strike issues. Not much point in having a light trigger pull if the gun don't go bang EVERY time you pull the trigger.

I use the Vanek Super Trigger in conjunction with the Jager lightened/extended striker in my open Glocks (G17's) and have found it to be stone cold reliable. That includes using a 4 pound striker spring that comes with the Vanek trigger. My trigger pull is in the 2 - 2.5 lb range. I use Winchester small pistol primers and they go bang every time. Every Glock is slightly different, so your experience may vary, but the combo works for me in several guns.

The parts to lighten your trigger pull aren't a problem. The only issues are if you use a recoil spring that is too light to hold the slide closed as you pull the trigger (less problem with a light striker spring). The only issues are: 1. Do your rounds go bang (enough primer strike) and 2. Do your primers stay in good shape when fired.