Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Worse shots after movement -- how to fix that?

Stan-O

I've noticed that the targets I engage after moving usually have lower score for me, but I can't figure out why. I do not shoot while moving (simply not there yet) and I do take aim before I shoot of course.

Is it a common problem? I'm starting to think breathing might have something to do with it -- is there a trick to that? Do you guys consciously exhale at the last step so you're not breathing in/out when shooting?

I did the same thing a few shoots ago - had a long, fast run

= got there and continued shooting long, fast & hard, instead

of running hard, and then shooting accurately.

I felt that I simply had not stopped "going as fast as possible"

and switched back to shooting deliberately and accurately.

Don't think it had anything to do with breathing, just a simple

mind trick. I may be wrong. :cheers:

I am by no means an expert but in just about everything I have always found training to failure results in the most gains. If your "just not there yet" as far as shooting on the move maybe focus some training time on that specifically. Your accuracy wont be great at first but for me focusing on the smoothness of movement really helps with improving my transitions from target to target. I try to move as cat like as possible when I practice shooting while moving, it helps me to focus on not disrupting the sights, I'd bet it would help you with that first shot when you get to a target after transitioning. By the way... as a 190lb bald aging kinda chubby guy I have to imagine I don't look very cat like, it's more feeling cat like :D

Have a local "top shot" evaluate your technique. Or post a video on the board here and you'll get plenty of positive feed back. Be honest with a self evaluation, is it a technique problem or a consitioning problem or maybe even an equipment problem (like you need better shoes or cleats)?