Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Torn between divisions...

MikeRush

I understand the requirements for different divisions- I have an adjustable sighted 1911 with an ICE magwell that would work for SS or Limited 10, and a G17 set up for carry that I could use in production. I have been shooting local steel matches infrequently for a couple of years, but I have begun training more seriously and I am becoming more confident with my abilities. Switching back and forth between the guns takes some time for me to get reacquainted with the characteristics of each. I don't currently carry or shoot IDPA or other sports.

I am planning on shooting my first USPSA match on Thursday. I can't decide whether I should start out shooting single stack or production. I have roughly 5k of components for the 1911 minus brass (I probably have 2500 or so pieces)- and some of the matches I shoot are lost brass matches. Ammo for me is cheaper in .45 as I have a good amount of lead and can cast the bullets I need. I shoot the 1911 much better, and the glock has the dot connector and night sights- the 1911 is the clear game gun for me. I am set up to reload both calibers, and I can make kydex mag pouches for either set up. Either way I need a couple more mags so that doesn't play into the equation.

I am looking for opinions. I feel like running the 1911 would help me to be able to focus on the the movement, stage breakdown, reloads, etc while still being able to get solid hits. It would also help me as I can shoot CA Legal division at local 3 gun with the 10 rd mags. The Glock, for me, takes a lot more effort in managing the fundamentals to get hits, and I am generally a bit slower with it. The extra difficulty in managing the fundamentals may make me a better shooter. I will try both divisions to find out where I fit best, but I want to pick one and stick with it for the next at least 6 months or so, and maybe longer.