Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Berrys plated-vs-Precision Delta

SERVED_USMC

Ive been running the 147gr Berrys for a few months now without a hitch, but I can get the Precisions for a little cheaper. Since I bulk load the 9's about 5K at a time the cost can add up. I also understand that the Precisions are copper clad, not plated. Is it worth the money to switch over to something unfamiliar, or should I stick with the Berrys? Figured I would get a few opinions before ordering another few cases.

PD are top quality jacketed bullets. No cheap shot (pun intended) on Berrys but PDs are much better bullets. The plating is usually so thin, you can take some sandpaper and rub it for a minute or two to see the lead. The jacketed ones are much tougher and usually much more accurate. My personal favorite is Montana Gold but I did finally get some PD bullets in and they are pretty nice too. Zero bullets are great but they are almost never in stock. I get my MG bullets in four days from ordering - and they are west coast and I'm on the east coast.

Once you get some good jacketed bullets, I don't think you will go back.

The other option is the Bayou bullets. They are great also except for Major PF in comp'ed guns.

PD are top quality jacketed bullets. No cheap shot (pun intended) on Berrys but PDs are much better bullets. The plating is usually so thin, you can take some sandpaper and rub it for a minute or two to see the lead. The jacketed ones are much tougher and usually much more accurate. My personal favorite is Montana Gold but I did finally get some PD bullets in and they are pretty nice too. Zero bullets are great but they are almost never in stock. I get my MG bullets in four days from ordering - and they are west coast and I'm on the east coast.

The other option is the Bayou bullets. They are great also except for Major PF in comp'ed guns.